Whitley selected for Liberty Fellowship class

Charleston School of Law professor Guang Ming Whitley is among the 12 Lowcountry leaders selected for Liberty Fellowship’s Class of 2025.
The Fellowship brings together a small group of established leaders with a wide range of thought, professions, geographic locations, and lived experiences. Through a rigorous 18-month process, each Class member will be challenged to understand and embrace their varying perspectives with a growth-oriented mindset.

“Leaders operate in a continually changing landscape and are required to respond swiftly to market forces,” said Ann Marie Stieritz, president and CEO of Liberty Fellowship and a Fellow from the Class of 2016. “This group of dynamic leaders will be a wonderful addition to our global and statewide networks who work together to foster collaboration, innovation, and sustainable growth.”

In addition to her role at Charleston Law, Guang Ming is also in her second term as an elected Councilwoman for the Town of Mount Pleasant, and she was recently voted Mayor Pro Tempore by her fellow council members.

She currently serves on the Board of Directors for several organizations, including: the John and Martha Rivers Performance Hall Foundation in support of the Gaillard Center, Explore Charleston, the Municipal Association of South Carolina, and Mugs for Moms, a nonprofit focused on maternal mental health. She is also the Chair of Lattice Climbers, a nonprofit focused on teaching life skills to young adults.

The Lowcountry leaders are:

  • Grayson Dorr, Senior Project Manager, Advanced Technology International
  • Elizabeth Fly, Director of Resilience and Ocean Conservation, The Nature Conservancy
  • Margaret Furniss, Vice President of Brand Experience, Beemok Hospitality Collection
  • Jonathan Grzyb, Founder and Managing Partner, Phoenix Holdings Partners
  • Mena Mark Hanna, General Director and CEO, Spoleto Festival USA
  • Jamilla Harper, Chief Operating Officer, Metanoia Community Development Corp.
  • Lana Kleiman, Executive Director, Charleston Legal Access
  • Estee Perlmutter, Advanced Practice Nurse, Liberty Doctors
  • Alyssa Richardson, Founder and CEO, Develop South Carolina LLC
  • Maj. Christopher D. Turner, Field Artillery Officer, South Carolina Army National Guard
  • Guang Ming Whitley, Assistant Professor of Law, Charleston School of Law
  • Gillian Zettler, Founder, G. Zettler Collective

The Class of 2025 will begin their Liberty Fellowship experience with a series of five, multi-day seminars in South Carolina and abroad in March 2024. Each Class member will also be required to create an impact venture that establishes positive change for future generations in South Carolina.

Upon successful completion of the initial program, the Class of 2025 will join 330 leaders in the Liberty Fellowship South Carolina Network and 3,500 leaders in the Aspen Global Leadership Network. Through these two networks, they will have lifelong opportunities for engagement and access to an influential group of colleagues and mentors.


The Charleston School of Law is an ABA-accredited law school nationally recognized for its student-centric culture. Our faculty and staff are committed to preparing you for success both in the classroom and in the legal profession.

  • The Princeton Review ranks Charleston School of Law professors sixth in the country for faculty accessibility and No. 12 nationwide in quality of teaching (2022)
  • Charleston School of Law faculty ranked among the top of The Princeton Review’s list of Best Professors in the nation (2016-2018)
  • Experiential Learning: Charleston School of Law students have access to more than 150 externship sites, creating opportunities for experiential learning in the legal field.
  • Community Service: Charleston School of Law students have performed more than 241,000 community service hours (2004-current).
  • Students have won the National Tax Moot Court Championship for seven consecutive years (2012-2018)

Related stories from the Charleston School of Law