Law School alumna appointed as Ninth Circuit's new Public Defender

Charleston School of Law alumna Cameron Blazer (’07) has been appointed as the Ninth Circuit’s new Public Defender. She is a member of the founding class at the law school.

“I’m going to do everything I can to be a thoughtful and creative problem solver,” Blazer told the Post and Courier. “Everyone involved needs to be “open and willing to try new things.”

Blazer graduated magna cum laude from Charleston Law. As a student, she served as a teaching fellow and earned the annual Pro Bono Service Award for community service. Blazer also remained active at the school after graduation, serving as vice president of the Alumni Association (2013-2015).

Since graduation, Blazer has remained active in the community. She served on the Board of Directors at PURE Theatre and chaired the Lowcountry Advisory Board for the Jefferson Awards community honors program. In 2016, she opened the Blazer Law Firm in Mount Pleasant where she practiced defense law.

Charleston School of Law will be co-sponsoring a reception in recognition of Blazer’s appointment on Monday at 5:00 p.m., following the official swearing-in ceremony. The event will be held at the Charleston Library Society on King Street.


The Charleston School of Law is an ABA-accredited law school nationally recognized for its student-centric culture. Our faculty and staff are committed to preparing you for success both in the classroom and in the legal profession.

  • The Princeton Review ranks Charleston School of Law professors second in the country for faculty accessibility (2021)
  • Charleston School of Law faculty ranked among the top of The Princeton Review’s list of Best Professors in the nation (2016-2018)
  • Experiential Learning: Charleston School of Law students have access to about more than 150 externship sites, creating opportunities for experiential learning in the legal field.
  • Community Service: Charleston School of Law students have performed more than 241,000 community service hours (2004-current).
  • Students have won the National Tax Moot Court Championship for seven consecutive years (2012-2018)

Related stories