Charleston Law celebrates faculty, student excellence at Awards Day ceremony

Charleston School of Law hosted its annual Awards Day ceremony on Tuesday to celebrate faculty and student success during the 2023-24 academic year.

Dean and Provost Larry Cunningham swore in the new Student Bar Association: President, Sarah Cooper, Carlee Lambert (Vice President), Delaney Pruiett (Treasurer), and Emily Dyer (Secretary).

Professor William Janssen was named Professor of the Year for the second straight year. The honor is given to the faculty member who “exudes superlative teaching ability, effectiveness inside the classroom, availability outside the classroom, and participation in student life.”

Professor Janssen was also recognized as the 1L Professor of the Year, an award given to the faculty member who “instills a love of the law into first-year students and is passionate about shaping young legal minds.”

Phi Delta Phi recognized Professor Jean Steadman with the Alex Sanders Award for faculty excellence. 

She was also named Faculty Mentor of the Year. The honor is presented to the faculty member who demonstrates the “highest level of quality in the mentoring of law students in and out of the classroom.”

Associate Dean Nick Sanders announced the 2024 student organization awards including: 

  • Alliance for Equality, MVLGBT Award: Becca Wade
  • Phi Delta Phi/Alex Sanders Award: Professor Jean Steadman
  • Trial Advocacy Board, Best Advocate Award: Gabe Mangold
  • Moot Court Board, Legacy Award: Corey James
  • Professionalism Award: Colin Read

SBA Awards

Geoffrey Ceglinski was honored for recording the most Pro Bono hours (453), followed by Sierra Childers (395) and Madison Friedrich (376.9).

Michelle Condon, Director of Externships, Public Service and Pro Bono, reported that 57 students completed more than 100 hours of community service. 

Community service is a core value at Charleston School of Law and was created to instill a commitment to service. Each graduate is required to participate a minimum of 50 hours of pro bono service in the community.

The Children’s and Family Law Society was given the Student Organization of the Year Award. Phil Delta Phi was also recognized for their outstanding community service.

Additional student awards and scholarships were announced during the ceremony including the following:

  • Michelle Robbins Award: Alyssa Munger
  • Angela Nussbaum Award: Bates Holman
  • Kat Westbrook Rockstar Award: Becca Wade
  • Grand Marshal: Michael Banks
  • Faculty Marshal: Jon Marcantel

Awards Day Photo Gallery