Student Ambassadors

At the Charleston School of Law, a group of students, the Student Ambassadors, have come together with the purpose of sharing their own experience with you. During your visit to campus, they volunteer their time to show you around the school, answer all of your questions and provide you with a firsthand account of life as a Charleston School of Law student. You are encouraged to reach out to them if you ever have any questions or simply want to chat about law school.

Carles' Anderson headshot

Carles’ Anderson
cganderson@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Charleston, S.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: University of South Carolina
Interesting Facts: I am an only child but you would never guess it.

Shannon Bastarache
slbastarache@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Waltham, Mass.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: Suffolk University
Interesting Fact: I am an identical twin.

Alison Bonner
acbonner@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Aberdeen Proving Ground, Md.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: University of Missouri
Interest/Interesting Fact: I really enjoy traveling and have lived abroad in Ireland and Vietnam.

Bev Boylard headshot

Bev Boylard
bdprice@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Delbarton, W.Va.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Marshall University
Interesting Fact: I was a middle school social studies teacher for three years.

Kenya Buttel headshot

Kenya Buttel
kybuttel@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Tulsa, Okla.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Southern Nazarene University
Interesting Facts: I was born in Honduras and am fluent in Spanish.

David Ehmen
dsehmen@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Johns Creek, Ga.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: Wofford College
Interests/Interesting Fact: White water rafting and the Green Bay Packers. I played Division 1 baseball.

Lani Frost headshot

Lani Frost
lwfrost@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Augusta, Ga.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Augusta University
Interesting fact: I was an art major with a concentration in studio art.

Mandee Funai
anfunai@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Huntley, Ill.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: Old Dominion University
Interesting Fact: I played hockey for 12 years and was on Team Illinois for seven of those years.

Stephany Garcia
s_garcia@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Gainesville, Ga.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: University of North Georgia
Interesting Fact: I traveled around Europe by myself prior to beginning law school. Prior to that trip, I had never been on an airplane or been to a different country.

Emily Gates headshot

Emily Gates
eagates@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Lancaster, Pa.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: University of Tampa
Interesting Fact: I do not like Southern food.

Lydia Givins
lngivins@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Spartanburg, S.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Clemson University
Interesting Fact: I have an adorable black Labrador named Maverick.

Kelly Haffner
kkhaffner@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: St. Louis, Mo.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: College of Charleston
Interests: Going to the beach, music, reading and traveling.

Cole Hancock headshot

James “Cole” Hancock
jchancock@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Rock Hill, S.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Clemson University
Interests: Fishing, hunting, sports, outdoors, and new things.

Anne Huebschen
achuebschen@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Milwaukee, Wis.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Interests/Interesting Fact: I am a huge baseball fan. I studied abroad in South Africa.

Rachel Janowski headshot

Rachel Janowski
rhjanowski@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Rock Hill, S.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Charleston Southern University
Interesting Fact: I currently serve in the Air Force Reserves, and have for over 14 years. I have been blessed to see so much of the world.

Madison Johnston headshot

Madison Johnston
mejohnston@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Simpsonville, S.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: University of South Carolina
Interests: I love to travel, cook and workout. I also enjoy trying new things and spending time with my cat, Lexi, and dog, Simba.

Gabriella Kain headshot

Gabriella Kain
gfkain@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Cincinnati, Ohio
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Ohio University
Interesting Fact: I could eat a burger and red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting for every meal and be completely okay with it.

Alexis Kovolenko headshot

Alexis Kovolenko
avkovolenko@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Fayetteville, N.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: East Carolina University
Interesting Facts: I am very sociable and love meeting and talking to new people.

Toni Lucente headshot

Toni Lucente
tlucente@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Mt. Ulla, N.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Interesting Fact: I don’t like bacon.

Kori McGraw
kamcgraw@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: St. Mary’s Ga.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: University of West Georgia
Interests: Spending time with my husband and son.

Kelli Murphy
kemurphy@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Boylston, Mass.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: Clemson University
Interests/Interesting Fact: I own two dogs, and I love going to the beach and local farmer’s market.

Tim Nicolette headshot

Timothy Nicolette
thnicolette@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Charleston, S.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Clemson University
Interests/Interesting Facts: I love the beach, brunch and breweries, and in that order. I have lost over 220 lbs.

Vishal Patel
vjpatel@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Dallas, Texas
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Louisiana State University
Interests: Cooking, HIIT workouts, sports, crossword puzzles and traveling.

Ammar Phillips headshot

Ammar Phillips
ajphillips@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Charlotte, N.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Western Carolina University
Interesting Facts: I ran track for 12 years. I was a 200 and 400 meter runner and I have a Southern Conference Indoor Track & Field Championship ring.

Jennilee Pirtle
jepirtle@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Prosper, Texas
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: Baylor University
Interests/Interesting Facts: I love golfing and traveling. One summer, I interned for Southwest Airlines and took over 40 flights across the country.

Ainissa Proctor headshot

Ainissa Proctor
alproctor@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Denver, Colo.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Colorado State University
Interesting Fact: I have a blog I use to connect with future and current law students.

Adrienne Satchell
azsatchell@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Fayetteville, N.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: University of North Carolina at Pembroke
Interesting Fact: I have a daughter who is getting ready to embark on her first year of college.

Lia Sewell headshot

Lia Sewell
lrsewell@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Mableton, Ga.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Mercer University
Interests: Track and field, cross country, and playing the flute.

Jacob Smith
jtsmith@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Austin, Texas
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: Texas State University
Interesting Facts: I am a former professional golfer, lived 2.5 years in Colorado, and will be working in Austin this summer (2019) at the District Attorney’s office.

Student ambassador Shana Smith

Shana Smith
sssmith@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Lewes Beach, Del.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2021
Undergraduate: College of Charleston
Interests: I enjoy traveling, volunteering, riding horses and exploring Charleston.

Ira Vogt headshot

Ira Vogt
ievogt@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Woodstock, Ga.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: St. Andrews University
Interesting Fact: I was a competitive swimmer for 18 years.

Mark Watkins
mcwatkins@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Rock Hill, S.C.
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: Coastal Carolina University
Interesting Fact: I am a transfer student.

Sammie Weidauer
sjweidauer@CharlestonLaw.edu
Hometown: Le Mars, Iowa
Anticipated Graduation Date: May 2020
Undergraduate: University of Oklahoma
Interesting Fact: My family hosted a foreign exchange student when I was in high school who I now consider a sister. I was able to visit her in Germany last summer while studying abroad in Holland.