Trial Advocacy Board Hosts Internal Competition, Anderson and Lokitis

Nov. 14, 2019 – After being postponed due to Hurricane Dorian, the Charleston School of Law Trial Advocacy Board hosted the final round of its annual internal trial competition on Wednesday, Nov. 14. Preliminary rounds were held Nov. 7-10, and the competition concluded on Wednesday evening with Professor Bill Janssen presiding. The final round of competition included the team of Matt Mateer and Marleny Sanchez on behalf of the State versus the team of Destini Anderson and Molly Lokitis appearing for the Defendant. Anderson and Lokitis emerged as the winners. 2019-2020 Trial Advocacy Board

Individual awards were presented to the following students:
Best Opening Statement – Gabby Gabriel
Best Direct Examination – Jacob T. Smith
Best Cross Examination – Mark Hinds
Best Closing Statement – Marcedes Smith

The following students were invited to join the Trial Advocacy Board for 2019-2020:
Destini Anderson
Calvin Brackin
George Graham
Gabby Gabriel
Mark Hinds
Sherdia Francis
Matt King
Molly Lokitis
Matt Mateer
Trey McAlpine
Luke O’Brien
Marleny Sanchez
Jacob Smith
Marcedes Smith

Read more