Trial Advocacy Board hosts internal competition, Beall and Hedge win

trial-ad-2Charleston Law students with Judge Wilkins

On Saturday, Oct. 27, the Charleston School of Law Trial Advocacy Board hosted its annual internal trial competition. Fifty students competed and 100 more participated as volunteers. Preliminary rounds were held on Friday and the competition concluded on Saturday afternoon with The Honorable William W.  Wilkins, retired senior judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit presiding. The final round of competition included the team of Catie Dunn and Ryan Schwartz versus the team of Maggie Beall and Zaine Hedge. Beall and Hedge emerged as the winners.

Individual awards were presented to the following students:
Founders’ Award for Professionalism in Advocacy – Catie K. Dunn
Akim Anastopoulo Best Advocate Award – Maggie D. Beall
Best Opening – Zaine D. Hedge
Best Direct Exam – Lane D. Jefferies
Best Cross Exam – Ryan Schwartz
Best Closing – Jerrod D. Frazier

The following students were invited to join the Trial Advocacy Board for 2012-2013:
Maggie D. Beall
Derek M. Bush
Craig A. Conover
Robert T. Crabtree
Catie K. Dunn
Jerrod D. Frazier
Zaine D. Hedge
Lane D. Jefferies
Andrew J. McCumber
Devon M. Puriefoy
Ryan Schwartz
Kayce M. Seifert
Corey B. Shipley
Jescelyn S. Tillman
Whitney E. Wilder

Todd Bruno, assistant professor of law and director of legal research, analysis and writing is the advisor for the Trial Advocacy Board.