Charleston Law finishes strong at the John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition

MARCH 30, 2018 – Law students AJ Bilbrey (Tennessee Technical University ’10), James Bryson (College of Charleston ’11), Tom Godfrey (Limestone College ’16), Mary Alden Jones (University of Virginia ’13), Zach Stohr (Virginia Commonwealth University Academic Division ’13), and Kirkley White (College of Charleston ’11) collectively won the oral argument portion in six of seven rounds at the Twenty-Fifth Annual John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition held in Seattle on March 22-24.

Admiralty Moot Court team

The competition was sponsored by University of Texas School of Law, and hosted by Seattle University School of Law. Oral arguments took place in the courtrooms of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and the Washington State Court of Appeals. The Final Championship Round was judged by two judges currently sitting on the Ninth Circuit, two U.S. District Court judges, two current Washington State Supreme Court judges, and one Washington State Superior Court judge.

Godfrey, Jones and White advanced to the quarterfinals. Bryson won the Nicoll, Black & Feig, PLLC Award for the Best Oral Advocate, Second Place out of more than 50 competitors. The team of Bryson, Bilbrey and Stohr were in the top nine of 23 teams and missed the quarterfinals by one spot.

“I could not have asked for more dedicated, intelligent and professional students to be on this team,” said team coach

Best Oral Advocate Award

Professor Jennifer North. “Kirkley, Mary Alden, AJ, and James have been on this team for two years, but they are 3Ls and will be graduating. I will miss them immensely. I am overjoyed that Zach and Tom will return to the team next year. This group of students did a fabulous job representing our school in one of the toughest moot court competitions in the nation. We look forward to competing again next year.”

The Charleston School of Law will host the competition on March 28-30, 2019.

For more information about the Charleston School of Law Moot Court Board, click here.